Home > icl info, twenty20 > Top commentators for ICL 20-20 Cricket

Top commentators for ICL 20-20 Cricket

CHANDIGARH:The Indian Cricket League, an Essel Group venture, announced an impressive line up of commentators and experts for the ICL Twenty-20 Tournament starting at Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula from November 30. The commentators names announced include Tony Greig, Dean Jones, Pat Symcox, Jeffery Thomson, Mike Whitney and Ayaz Memon. Additionally Kapil Dev will be seen dawning a new role and be the co-commentator to provide expert insights and opinions on the matches.


Commenting on the line-up ICL Chairman-Executive Board Kapil Dev Nikhanj League said “to deliver the live experience to the audience, commentator’s role is of absolute importance and can’t be ignored. We have signed on some of the world’s best commentators and their vast cricketing experience will add a lot of value in providing a perspective to our cricket fans.”

Commenting on his association with ICL, Tony Greig, said, “I am excited to team up with Zee Sports for the upcoming ICL 20-20 Tournament and look forward to joining Kapil Dev with whom I have had lot of exciting, on-field rivalry. I am personally very happy to be a part of this initiative and I hope to add value through my understanding of the game. “

Renowned opening batsmen of Australia and cricket commentator Dean Jones said, “I am delighted to join ICL panel and team up with my old pals to share exciting, live update with the fan following across the world.”

TONY GREIG: England’s cricket captain from 1975 until 1977, Tony Greig led his country 14 times. He retired young, and immigrated to Australia, where he has had a successful career as an executive in the Packer organization and as a television commentator. Today one of the most recognizable and respected voices on Cricket broadcasts, Tony has the brilliant knack of bringing alive the furious excitement of live cricketing action.

JEFF THOMPSON: Initially a soccer player, ‘Thommo’ took a liking to cricket and went on to become a legend with his furiously fast bowling. He collided with team mate Alan Turner on the field when both went for the same catch and he was seriously injured, and plates and bolts were fitted into his shoulder, but despite the injury he fought his way back into the Australian team and along with Lillie hunted as one of the most lethal pair of fast bowlers of all time!

DEAN JONES: Jones one of Australia’s most successful batsmen of winning team, and was noted for his electric running between the wickets, outstanding out-fielding and aggressive batting especially against. With his positive, aggressive and flamboyant style of play he became a crowd favourite. He played a significant part in the ’87 World Cup and ’89 Ashes wins for the team. Turbulent stints as captain of Victoria and Derbyshire followed and he remained devoted to the game and since retirement has been a Commentator.

PAT SYMCOX: Symcox played first class cricket for South Africa for 21 years, having played in a staggering 20 Tests and 80 one-day internationals. He retired from cricket in 1999. Former South African cricketing great is a well-known critic of the ‘quota system’ that was introduced into South African cricket to benefit previously disadvantaged players.

MIKE WHITNEY: He is former Australian  from 1981 to 1993.He was a commentator for The Olympic Games in Sydney in 2000, and the recently concluded Commonwealth Games in Manchester.

KAPIL DEV: Arguably India’s greatest all-rounder and recently recognised as India’s greatest Cricketer with the Wisden Indian Cricketer of The Century award, Kapil Dev has charted the course of many famous Indian victories. Captaining India to win the Prudential Cup in 1983 was the highlight of his career. He also led India to a 2-0 series win to beat England in 1986. And, of course, at the top of his most spectacular unbeaten innings ranks his knock of 175 against Zimbabwe when India was on the route to the World Cup win in 1983.

Schedule Nov 30: Chandigarh Lions v Delhi Jets Dec 1: Chennai Superstars v Kolkata Tigers; Mumbai Champs v Hyderabad Heroes Dec 2: Delhi Jets v Hyderabad Heroes; Chandigarh Lions v Kolkata Tigers Dec 3: Mumbai Champs v Chennai Superstars Dec 5: Hyderbad Heroes v Chandigarh Lions Dec 7: Mumbai Champs v Delhi Jets Dec 8: Chennai Superstars v Chandigarh Lions; Delhi Jets v Kolkata Tigers Dec 9: Hyderabad Heroes v Chennai Superstars; Mumbai Champs v Chandigarh Lions Dec 10: Mumbai Champs v Kolkata Tigers Dec 12: Chennai Superstars v Delhi Jets; Hyderbad Heroes v Kolkata Tigers Dec 14: Semi-final I Dec 15: 5/6 classification; Semi-final II Dec 16: 3/4 classification; Final.

Categories: icl info, twenty20
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: