Home > icl info > Indian Cricket League announces umpires, match referees

Indian Cricket League announces umpires, match referees

Essel Group’s The Indian Cricket League (ICL) has announced its panel of four umpires and two match referees for the upcoming ICL 20-20 Tournament. The tournament which is slated to start from 30 November 2007 in Chandigarh will have four member umpire panel.

Raymond Julian has umpired in over 500 first class games. Julian became a first-class umpire in 1972 and remained on the list until his retirement at the end of 2001.

Jeffrey Evans from Carmarthenshire, Wales has stood in over 99 first class games apart from officiating Women’s One – Day International Matches.

Trevor Jesty, from Hampshire, has stood in over 180 first class matches. His other credentials include receiving the coveted Wisden Cricketer of the Year – UK in the year 1983.

Dean Johnson from Leicestershire has umpired in list ‘A” matches.


Ajit Wadekar and EAS Prasanna will hold the positions of match referees in the forthcoming ICL 20-20 Tournament.

ICL chairman executive board Kapil Dev says, “Umpiring for cricket match is not an easy task. It requires precision and experience to give right decision, as one wrong decision can change the match outcome. Our umpires and referees have rich experience of the game and an eye for precision too. We are happy to have them with us.”

Categories: icl info
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: