Home > Cricket News, icl info > ICL 20-20 to roll from Nov 30 at Chandigarh

ICL 20-20 to roll from Nov 30 at Chandigarh

The Indian Cricket League (ICL), an Essel Group venture, today announced that the inaugural ICL 20-20 championship comprising 20 matches will take place from November 30 to December 16, at Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium, Panchkula, Chandigarh.

The announcement came after an executive board meeting held in Chennai today. There will be 15 league matches wherein all teams play each other once, followed by 5 classification matches. The final preceded by the 5th/6th place and the 3rd/4th place deciding matches will take place on ‘Super Sunday’ December 16.

Kapil Dev, executive board chairman, Indian Cricket League said: “The ICL 20-20 Indian Championship will be held as promised, later next month at Chandigarh. We are working hard to deliver a very exciting tournament for Indian viewers.

I am confident that the public in this country will witness for the first time a fully professionally run and well-organised extravaganza of cricket.”

ICL had a tough time in getting a venue for the matches. Kapil Dev in an earlier statement said the tournament, originally scheduled for October, has been moved to November as cricketers would be free from international duty by that time.

The league has signed up 18 new cricketers — six international and 12 domestic players. Among the first domestic cricketers to join the league were Dinesh Mongia, Reetinder Singh Sodhi, J P Yadav, Deep Das Gupta, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, T Kumaran and Ambati Rayudu.

The international players who have signed contracts to play for ICL include Chris Cairns, Chris Harris, Nathan Astle, Hamish Marshal, Darren Maddy, Azhar Mahmood, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Imran Farhat and Abdul Razzaq, former South African all-rounders Lance Klusener and Nicky Boje.

Categories: Cricket News, icl info
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: