Home > Cricket News > Ex-international players still at the top of their game

Ex-international players still at the top of their game

Mark Gillespie and Junior McBrine were the main award winners at the North West Cricket dinner.

The former Ireland internationals were named Radio Foyle Player of the Year and Club Player of the Year respectively after both enjoyed another marvellous season with bat and ball.

Gillespie scored 717 runs for Strabane at an average of over 47 and took 37 wickets at less than 16 while McBrine, who was top of the poll by his fellow players, was leading wicket taker in the North West, falling just one short of the half-century at an average of 14.2. The Donemana legend, now 44 years old, also scored 684 runs with five 50s.

At the other end of the age scale, Bready’s Chris Dougherty, who helped Ireland reach the Under 19 World Cup finals, received the Jack Semple Young Player of the Year award. He scored only 16 runs fewer than McBrine and also shared a record first wicket stand of 317 with David Rankin, also a nominee for the award, in the Senior Cup.

The Club Person of the Year went to Raymond Moan, the driving force behind the resurgence of Sion Mills who were on the verge of folding a few years ago. Not only has he kept the club alive with his off the field efforts but, after making one solitary international appearance for Ireland in 1970, he is still playing senior cricket.

Raymond is also the man behind Sperrin Springs, the sponsors of the Faughan Valley Twenty20 competitions in the North West.

The Fair Play Award went to Richard Dougherty, the Donemana wicket keeper and regular No 11 who scored his first century in senior cricket this season. It was in the top of the table clash with champions Brigade, however, that he proved sportsmanship was alive and well when he recalled a batsman, who was given run out, because Dougherty admitted he had broken the wicket without having control of the ball.

The other individual winners, who received their awards at the dinner were – Senior One batting: Mark Gillespie (Strabane), bowling: Bobby Rao (Eglinton); Senior Two batting (shared): Mark Roulston (Burndennett) and Alan McBeth (St Johnston); bowling: Stephen McCay (Burndennett); Intermediate One batting: Colin Spence (Bready II); bowling: Richard Devine (Fox Lodge II); Intermediate Two batting: Alex Steele (Crindle); bowling: David Hall (Bonds Glen II); Intermediate Three batting: Ryan O’Neill (Ballyspallen); bowling: Johnny Martin (Ballyspallen); Intermediate Four batting: Roy McBrine (Donemana IV); bowling: Adrian Heywood (Fox Lodge IV).

Categories: Cricket News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: