Home > Cricket News > Twenty20 World Cup Win The Best Day In My Cricketing Life, Says Indian Spinner Harbhajan Singh

Twenty20 World Cup Win The Best Day In My Cricketing Life, Says Indian Spinner Harbhajan Singh

India spinner Harbhajan Singh has revealed that winning the inaugural World Twenty20 tournament in South Africa was the best cricketing experience of his career.

Reflecting on his part in India’s triumph, Harbhajan tells the November issue of The Wisden Cricketer magazine, “I couldn’t ask to be part of anything better. The game is going to be a big hit in India now.

“The reception we got back home was unbelievable. From the airport to the Wankhede stadium usually takes 45 minutes but we were on the open bus and it took us about five-and-a-half hours to get there! That was probably the best day in my cricketing life.”

And looking to the future he predicts that a recall to India’s Test side is in the offing, “I’m excited to be back and happy to be back where I deserve to be – I’ve done enough for my country to be here, I feel great to be able to represent my country and very happy about returning to the side.”

“It’s only a matter of time before I get looked at for the Tests. I’m a much better bowler now having spent so much time with Surrey and I’ve played well.”

During his spell with the English county side, Harbhajan was highly impressed by the former England batsman Mark Ramprakash, of whom he says, “That man is a hitting machine. I cannot believe he is not back in the England side. Now he wouldn’t choke, not with his mentality and abilities. There are some players he could easily replace.”

“He’s too fit! He’s a great fielder and an even better batsman – he could bat for two or three days and not be tired – what else do you need in a cricketer?”

And he also heaps praise on new England one-day opener Phil Mustard, saying, “I thought it was unfortunate that he wasn’t in the squad for the Twenty20 and has only been called up for the Sri Lanka tour.”

“I think he would have been the one to make the difference for England in the Twenty20 championships – there is something Gilchrist-like about him,” he told the magazine.

Categories: Cricket News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

