Home > Cricket News, IPL News > Vettori, Styris join official India league

Vettori, Styris join official India league

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori and allrounder Scott Styris are among 10 current internationals to have signed up for the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) next year, organisers have said.

Building on the national team’s Twenty20 World Cup triumph, the Indian cricket board is to launch its own multi-million dollar professional Twenty20 league, the IPL.

It will counter a rival Twenty20 league which has attracted a number of big names but has come under pressure after the board refused to give its approval.

New Zealand’s senior batsman Stephen Fleming had earlier joined the official league.

As well as Vettori and Styris, South African skipper Graeme Smith and four of his teammates – batsmen Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers and Ashwell Prince and allrounder Albie Morkel – were today named as the latest signings.

Pakistan batsman Mohammad Yousuf, who was earlier linked to the rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL), West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sri Lankan paceman Chaminda Vaas and retired Australian batsman Justin Langer have also signed up.

The Indian board said last month the league would be played next April with $US3 million ($NZ3.99 million) in prizemoney and eight teams to be bought by franchisees.

Each franchise would have a playing squad of sixteen comprising Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)-registered players drawn from a central pool of Indian players and designated players, who could be contracted players from the Indian national team or the overseas pool.

National boards also jointly announced a Champions Twenty20 league from next year offering $US5m in prizemoney and featuring two finalists each from leagues in India, Australia, South Africa and England.

Eight Sri Lankans, including skipper Mahela Jayawardene and offspinner Muttiah Muralitharan, had signed up earlier.

Retired Australian stalwarts Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne have opted for the official Indian version which will also feature India’s Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Saurav Ganguly and Anil Kumble.

Categories: Cricket News, IPL News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: