Home > Cricket News, twenty20 > Kallis not making statement to national selectors

Kallis not making statement to national selectors

South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis today dismissed suggestions that his landmark performance of two centuries in a cricket Test was sort of a statement to the national selectors who dropped him for the Twenty20 World Cup.

Kallis, who had resigned as the vice-captain in protest to his ouster from the Twenty20 squad, said he did not think too much about what was happening off the field.

“I just like to go out there and give my best for my country and if I can do that I am very happy like now,” he said.

“It would have been nice to have played in the Twenty20 but the rest I got before this series has allowed me to come back fresh. The rest period I got was special for me. Also Twenty20 cricket is a totally different form of game.”

The 31-year-old Kallis put his team in the driving seat in the first match against Pakistan with 155 and 100 not out.

“I liked my first innings hundred a lot better. I was stroking the ball better. The second hundred was more off a grafting innings as we required to put runs on the board to allow us to have fielders around the bat when we fielded.”

Kallis, his country’s highest Test run-getter and only the fourth South African to achieve the honour of scoring two centuries in a Test, said he was proud of the achievement.

“It is a big moment for me to look back at. It is something which at the end of my career I will always look back at with pride.”

Kallis, who has also taken over 200 Test wickets, said he saw the first Test against Pakistan in an intriguing stage.

“There is still enough in the pitch to keep our bowlers interested. But we have to keep our heads and try hard. There is some hardwork to be done,” he said.

Categories: Cricket News, twenty20
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

