Home > Cricket News, IPL News > Manohar to take over from Pawar

Manohar to take over from Pawar

Mumbai: Shashank Manohar was on Thursday confirmed as president-elect of the BCCI, a day ahead of its 78th annual general meeting. He will succeed Sharad Pawar next year.

The Nagpur-based lawyer, one of the vice-presidents of the BCCI currently headed by Pawar, is the only person to have sent in his nomination, secretary Niranjan Shah said. The deadline for filing of nomination ended Thursday.

Pawar is set to quit ahead of the AGM in September 2008 following his nomination as president-elect of the International Cricket Council.

The term of the new president would be for two years followed by another one-year term if he’s elected again at the end of the fixed term.

A major item on the agenda of the AGM is the nomination of a new chairman for the Bangalore-based National Cricket Academy in place of Ajay Shirke, who was appointed as the interim head, following the removal of Kapil Dev.

No fireworks are expected at the AGM with no elections to the office-bearers scheduled. The public interest would be minimal with the same set of selectors to continue both for the juniors and seniors.

Chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar and junior panel chairman Sanjeev Sharma will continue at the helm till the next AGM.

The BCCI has posted a healthy profit of Rs 232 crore and has also enhanced the match fees of domestic players substantially in the wake of the threat from the Indian Cricket League.

The projected revenue for the next fiscal is also considerably more, and these factors plus the recent victories in Ireland, England and World Ttwenty20 in South Africa are expected to make the discussions smooth.

Routine matters like the passing of accounts and the report of the secretary are some of the other items on the agenda.

An update on the proposed Indian Premier League and Champions League is expected to be provided by its vice-president and marketing committee head Lalit Modi.

Categories: Cricket News, IPL News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: