Home > Cricket News, twenty20 > ‘After the bowl-out win we never looked back’

‘After the bowl-out win we never looked back’

For Harbhajan Singh, life has come a full circle.

Dumped from the team after the 2007 World Cup debacle in the West Indies, he fought his way back and played a stellar role in India’s triumphant Twenty20 World Cup campaign in South Africa.

The 27-year-old off-spinner, also dubbed the ‘Turbanator’, was at his magical best in the newest version of the game, not only claiming key wickets but also restricting the runs.

Now back in the team for the seven-match One-Day International series against Australia, which gets underway on Saturday in Bangalore, he hopes to keep delivering top-class performances.

The champion spinner spoke to Special Correspondent Harish Kotian in Bangalore on the memorable Twenty20 triumph.

Harbhajan SinghIn your last interview , you mentioned how eagerly you were looking forward to making a comeback and proving yourself. So, in that sense, how satisfying was it to turn in such a magnificent showing at the Twenty20 World Cup?

Well, I was just trying to stick to what I was doing in England, where I was bowling at my best. I had the hunger to prove myself again and that kept me going.

There was a lot of talk going that I am not good enough, that I am bowling too fast, that I am doing this and that. At the end of the day I knew that it was just a matter of time or, maybe, more than that for me to comeback [into the Indian team]. But I have to keep working on my game and keep coming hard whenever I play any kind of cricket.

Categories: Cricket News, twenty20
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

