Home > Cricket News, icl info > Razzaq keen to resume Pakistan career

Razzaq keen to resume Pakistan career

All-rounder Abdul Razzaq, who announced retirement and joined the Indian Cricket League, has said he was keen on resuming his Pakistan career but did not see it happening with Board chairman Naseem Ashraf and present selection committee in place.

“I will not change my decision with these people in power. But yes if they are changed than I would come back. Because I don’t expect to get any merit or justice from them,” he said.

Razzaq, who is playing for Worcestershire in England, said he still deserved a place in the Twenty20 and one-day teams on basis of his past performances.

“They are just willing to talk about my last 15 matches but nothing about my previous performances. I think I deserve a permanent place in the one-day side even now,” he said.

But he also made it clear that he was not regretting his last week’s decision to retire from international cricket.

“I have done what I had to do because I was disheartened and also disappointed at the way the Board and selectors have treated me. They can now do what they want. I did what I had to do,” he was quoted as saying by the Geo TV.

After Razzaq, along with Inzamam-ul Haq, Mohammad Yousuf and Imran Farhat, signed up with the ICL, the PCB said it would not consider those players for selection who play in the Indian Cricket League.

Razzaq accused the PCB of following the dictatorial Indian line in dealing with the ICL. “No other Board has said anything on the ICL except for Pakistan and Sri Lanka. To my mind it is clear that the PCB is following the Indian line on this issue,” he said.

Razzaq said his decision to join the ICL was not just motivated because of money.

“The truth is I was just not happy with the circumstances prevailing presently and I was disheartened and wanted a change,” he said.

The PCB has accused the four players who have signed up for ICL of putting money before country.

The Board clearly has been stung by the decision of Yousuf to join the ICL and insiders say efforts are still on to convince the senior batsman to change his mind and leave the Indian League.

Categories: Cricket News, icl info
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

